Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Monroe County marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your ceremony date.
It is important that you verify all information with the Rochester City Clerk's Office before making any wedding or travel plans.
NOTE: Obtaining a marriage license prior to Numerous Nuptials and filing it after Numerous Nuptials is the responsibility of the participants. Brother Wease will only officiate the ceremony and sign the certificates. Completing all of the legal requirements of marriage is up to you!
The Marriage License
Where do you get one?
A couple who intends to be married in New York State must apply in person for a marriage license to any town or city clerk in the state. The application for a license must be signed by both parties in the presence of the town or city clerk. A representative cannot apply for the license on behalf of either party. This applies even if the representative has been given the Power of Attorney. Notarized marriage license affidavits signed by either party cannot be substituted for their personal appearance.
City or Town Clerks
The Monroe County Clerk’s Office does not issue marriage licenses and does not keep copies of marriage licenses. Marriage licenses are issued by city and town clerks. Copies of marriage licenses may be obtained from the office of the clerk who originally issued the marriage license.
Monroe County website
City of Rochester website
US Marriage Law website
Is there a waiting period?
Yes. Although the marriage license is issued immediately, the marriage ceremony may not take place within 24 hours from the exact time that the license was issued. When both applicants are 16 years of age or older, the 24-hour waiting period may be waived by an order of a justice of the Supreme Court or a judge of the County Court of the county in which either the bride or groom resides. If either person is under 16 years of age, the order must be from the Family Court judge of the county in which the person under 16 years of age resides.
How long is the license valid?
A marriage license is valid for 60 days, beginning the day after it is issued.
How much does it cost?
If the marriage license is issued by a town or city clerk in New York State outside of New York City, it costs $40. This fee includes the issuance of a Certificate of Marriage Registration. This certificate is automatically sent by the issuing clerk to the applicants within 15 days after the completed license is returned by the officiant (person who performs the marriage ceremony). It serves as notice that a record of the marriage is on file. Couples who do not receive a Certificate of Marriage Registration within four weeks of the wedding should contact the town or city clerk who issued the license.
Proof of Age and Identity
A person is required to establish proof of age and identity by submitting to the issuing clerk one of the following age related documents:
And one of the following identity related documents:
Same Sex Marriages: